Slashdot Items Tagged "ai"

Date / Time Story
Saturday December 09, 2017 @04:02PM Emotion Recognition Systems Could Be Used In Job Interviews
Friday December 08, 2017 @04:32PM Insurers Are Rewarding Tesla Owners For Using Autopilot
Friday December 08, 2017 @03:49PM Elon Musk Says Tesla Is Building Dedicated Chips For Autopilot
Wednesday December 06, 2017 @04:07PM AI Can Beat Humans Only One Game At a Time
Wednesday December 06, 2017 @04:06PM Google's DeepMind AI Becomes a Superhuman Chess Player In a Few Hours
Wednesday December 06, 2017 @04:01PM Inside Baidu's Bid To Lead the AI Revolution
Tuesday December 05, 2017 @04:28PM Tencent Says There Are Only 300,000 AI Engineers Worldwide, But Millions Are Needed
Sunday December 03, 2017 @06:23PM Google's AI Built an AI that Outperforms Any Made By Humans
Friday December 01, 2017 @04:34PM Two Technologists Create Black Metal Album Using An AI
Friday December 01, 2017 @12:04PM Stephen Hawking: 'I Fear AI May Replace Humans Altogether'
Tuesday November 28, 2017 @08:03PM AI Goes Bilingual -- Without a Dictionary
Tuesday November 28, 2017 @12:02PM Google Can Tell if Someone Is Looking at Your Phone Over Your Shoulder
Monday November 27, 2017 @05:56PM Scientists Have Built Robot Muscles That Can Lift 1,000 Times Their Own Weight
Monday November 27, 2017 @04:10PM Facebook Rolls Out AI To Detect Suicidal Posts Before They're Reported
Saturday November 25, 2017 @12:16AM Google Flagged Its Own Chromebook Ad As Spam On YouTube
Monday November 20, 2017 @12:59PM Deep Learning Is Eating Software
Saturday November 18, 2017 @07:20PM Musk-Backed 'Slaughterbots' Video Will Warn the UN About Killer Microdrones
Friday November 17, 2017 @06:37PM 'Robots Are Not Taking Over,' Says Head of UN Body of Autonomous Weapons
Thursday November 16, 2017 @08:05PM Stanford Trains AI To Diagnose Pneumonia Better Than a Radiologist In Just Two Months
Wednesday November 15, 2017 @12:25PM An Inside Look At the First Church of Artificial Intelligence
Tuesday November 14, 2017 @02:56PM Without Humans, Artificial Intelligence Is Still Pretty Stupid
Saturday November 11, 2017 @03:49PM Study Finds Robot Surgeons Are Actually Slower and More Expensive
Thursday November 09, 2017 @10:56AM Philippine Outsourcing Industry Braces For AI
Wednesday November 08, 2017 @07:15PM Intel Recruits AMD RTG Exec Raja Koduri To Head New Visual Computing Group
Tuesday November 07, 2017 @01:15PM Andrew Ng Wants a New 'New Deal' To Combat Job Automation
Tuesday November 07, 2017 @12:57PM Hawking: AI Could Be 'Worst Event in the History of Our Civilization'
Tuesday November 07, 2017 @10:50AM Farmers In India Are Using AI To Increase Crop Yields
Sunday November 05, 2017 @05:40PM Humans Are Still Better Than AI at StarCraft
Thursday November 02, 2017 @05:04PM Eric Schmidt and Bob Work: Our AI 'Sputnik Moment' Is Now
Wednesday November 01, 2017 @11:23AM Rise of the Machines Must Be Monitored, Say Global Finance Regulators
Wednesday November 01, 2017 @08:08AM 'We Can't Compete': Universities Are Losing Their Best AI Scientists
Tuesday October 31, 2017 @06:08PM NVIDIA-Powered Neural Network Produces Freakishly Natural Fake Human Photos
Tuesday October 31, 2017 @05:05PM MIT Researchers Trained AI To Write Horror Stories Based On 140,000 Reddit Posts
Tuesday October 31, 2017 @03:18PM Apple Uses Machine Learning To Chronicle All the Bra Pics On Your iPhone
Monday October 30, 2017 @10:04PM Google Has a New Plan for China (and It's Not About Search)
Monday October 30, 2017 @03:36PM Seagate's New 'SkyHawk AI' Disk Drive Is Just a Slightly Higher Speced Version of Its Predecessor
Friday October 27, 2017 @10:19PM Open Source Data Sets? Linux Foundation Introduces 'Community Data License Agreements'
Friday October 27, 2017 @04:09PM Wall Street's Research Jobs Are the Most Likely To Be Upended By AI
Thursday October 26, 2017 @03:03PM This Machine Kills Captchas
Thursday October 26, 2017 @11:49AM Saudi Arabia Becomes First Nation To Grant Citizenship To Humanoid Robot
Wednesday October 25, 2017 @06:34PM Google's Sentiment Analyzer Thinks Being Gay Is Bad
Tuesday October 24, 2017 @04:16PM Tech Companies Pledge To Use Artificial Intelligence Responsibly
Tuesday October 24, 2017 @01:44AM Tech Giants Are Paying Huge Salaries For Scarce AI Talent
Monday October 23, 2017 @03:57PM Google Worked With Intel on a custom AI Chip For Its Pixel Phones
Monday October 23, 2017 @11:11AM Facebook Runs On AI - But 70% of Its Engineers Who Use AI Aren't Experts
Sunday October 22, 2017 @12:14PM When an AI Tries Writing Slashdot Headlines
Sunday October 22, 2017 @10:37AM Tesla Plans Factory In China, Discounts Insurance For Self-Driving US Cars
Friday October 20, 2017 @02:14PM The AI That Has Nothing to Learn From Humans
Wednesday October 18, 2017 @02:53PM DeepMind's Go-Playing AI Doesn't Need Human Help To Beat Us Anymore
Tuesday October 17, 2017 @03:36PM Intel Aims To Take on Nvidia With a Processor Specially Designed for AI
Monday October 16, 2017 @03:18PM eBay Launches Authentication Service To Combat Counterfeit High-End Goods
Monday October 16, 2017 @09:46AM Voice Assistants Will Be Difficult To Fire
Friday October 13, 2017 @09:07AM Does the Rise of AI Precede the End of Code?
Thursday October 12, 2017 @01:26PM We're Too Wise For Robots To Take Our Jobs, Alibaba's Jack Ma Says
Saturday October 07, 2017 @12:17AM Tim O'Reilly: Don't Fear AI, Fear Ourselves
Friday October 06, 2017 @10:20PM GM Exec Says Elon Musk's Self-Driving Car Claims Are 'Full of Crap'
Thursday October 05, 2017 @01:31PM Toymaker Mattel Cancels AI Babysitter After Privacy Complaints
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @06:36PM The Google Clips Camera Puts AI Behind the Lens
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @05:23PM Mattel's New Baby Monitor Uses AI To Soothe Babies and Lawmakers Aren't Happy About It
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @03:37PM Artificial Intelligence Has 'Great Potential, But We Need To Steer Carefully,' LinkedIn Co-founder Says
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @03:03PM Google Debuts Its $400 Google Home Max Speaker To Rival Apple's HomePod
Sunday October 01, 2017 @03:14PM Donate Your Noise To Xiph/Mozilla's Deep-Learning Noise Suppression Project
Sunday October 01, 2017 @12:00PM Meet The Next Major Operating System: Amazon's Alexa
Thursday September 28, 2017 @10:00AM 5,000 People Are Working On Amazon's Digital Assistant Alexa
Monday September 25, 2017 @12:52AM Ray Kurzweil Explains Why Technology Won't Eliminate Human Jobs
Friday September 22, 2017 @11:06PM Are Companies Overhyping AI?
Thursday September 21, 2017 @04:26PM A New Zealand Company Built An AI Baby That Plays the Piano
Wednesday September 20, 2017 @03:23PM Tesla Is Working With AMD To Develop Its Own AI Chip For Self-Driving Cars
Wednesday September 20, 2017 @03:11PM Amazon Is Reportedly Working On Alexa-Enabled Smart Glasses
Tuesday September 19, 2017 @02:57PM Google's AI Boss Blasts Musk's Scare Tactics on Machine Takeover
Tuesday September 19, 2017 @02:41PM You Might Use AI, But That Doesn't Mean You're an AI Company, Says a Founder of Google Brain
Monday September 18, 2017 @08:37PM AI Just Made Guessing Your Password a Whole Lot Easier
Friday September 15, 2017 @03:05PM Artificial Intelligence Pioneer Says We Need To Start Over
Friday September 15, 2017 @01:45PM South Park's Season Premier Sets Off Everyone's Amazon Echo
Friday September 15, 2017 @11:01AM Many Machine Learning Studies Don't Actually Show Anything Meaningful, But They Spread Fear, Uncertainty, and Doubt
Saturday September 09, 2017 @08:56PM Neural Networks Can Auto-Generate Reviews That Fool Humans
Saturday September 09, 2017 @08:41PM America's Data-Swamped Spy Agencies Pin Their Hopes On AI
Friday September 08, 2017 @04:08PM AI Can Detect Sexual Orientation Based On Person's Photo
Thursday September 07, 2017 @06:16PM IBM To Invest $240 Million To Develop AI Research Lab With MIT
Wednesday September 06, 2017 @03:46PM Hackers Can Take Control of Siri and Alexa By Whispering To Them in Frequencies Humans Can't Hear
Wednesday September 06, 2017 @03:07PM Executives Say AI Will Change Business, But Aren't Doing Much About It
Wednesday September 06, 2017 @09:17AM IBM Pitched Its Watson Supercomputer as a Revolution in Cancer Care. It's Nowhere Close
Monday September 04, 2017 @10:48AM AI Could Lead To Third World War, Elon Musk Says
Sunday September 03, 2017 @11:27AM Huawei Unveils AI Mobile Chipset Said To Rival A11 Processor In Upcoming iPhones
Friday September 01, 2017 @10:16PM 'Pay With Your Face' Technology Tested in a KFC Store In China
Wednesday August 30, 2017 @09:02AM Amazon's Alexa and Microsoft's Cortana Are Going To Work Together
Monday August 28, 2017 @10:40PM Popular YouTube Artist Uses AI To Record New Album
Monday August 28, 2017 @01:56PM To Survive in Tough Times, Restaurants Turn to Data-Mining
Sunday August 27, 2017 @02:47PM Could AI Transform Continuous Delivery Development?
Sunday August 27, 2017 @12:53AM AI Training Algorithms Susceptible To Backdoors, Manipulation
Sunday August 27, 2017 @12:08AM A Platoon Of Networked Self-Driving Trucks Will Be Tested in the UK
Friday August 25, 2017 @05:28PM Elon Musk's Neuralink Gets $27 Million To Build Brain Computers
Monday August 21, 2017 @03:02PM Leading Chinese Bitcoin Miner Wants To Cash In On AI
Sunday August 20, 2017 @11:35PM Elon Musk Backs Call For A Global Ban On Killer Robots
Sunday August 20, 2017 @11:20PM Microsoft Speech Recognition Now As Accurate As Professional Transcribers
Wednesday August 16, 2017 @11:40AM Amazon Will Pay Developers With the Most Engaging Alexa Skills
Monday August 14, 2017 @01:53PM Google Hires Former Star Apple Engineer Chris Lattner For Its AI Team
Sunday August 13, 2017 @06:47PM Why AI Won't Take Over The Earth
Saturday August 12, 2017 @03:20PM Elon Musk + AI + Microsoft = Awesome Dota 2 Player
Wednesday August 09, 2017 @04:34PM Blizzard and DeepMind Turn StarCraft II Into An AI Research Lab
Tuesday August 08, 2017 @04:19PM AI Factory Boss Will Tell Workers and Robots How To Work Together
Tuesday August 08, 2017 @10:56AM IBM Claims Big Breakthrough in Deep Learning
Friday August 04, 2017 @09:42AM Chinese Chatbots Apparently Re-educated After Political Faux Pas
Tuesday August 01, 2017 @03:46PM Google Says AI Better Than Humans At Scrubbing Extremist YouTube Content
Sunday July 30, 2017 @12:39AM Will 'Smart Cities' Violate Our Privacy?
Wednesday July 26, 2017 @01:52PM Qualcomm Opens Its Mobile Chip Deep Learning Framework To All
Tuesday July 25, 2017 @08:49AM Elon Musk Says Mark Zuckerberg's Understanding of AI Is Limited
Monday July 24, 2017 @08:58AM Quest for AI Leadership Pushes Microsoft Further Into Chip Development
Saturday July 22, 2017 @03:26PM Mozilla's New Open Source Voice-Recognition Project Wants Your Voice
Friday July 21, 2017 @10:59AM Beijing Wants AI To Be Made In China By 2030
Thursday July 20, 2017 @05:01PM IBM's AI Can Predict Schizophrenia With 74 Percent Accuracy By Looking at the Brain's Blood Flow
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @05:49PM US House Panel Approves Broad Proposal On Self-Driving Cars
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @05:45PM Dadbot: How a Son Made a Chatbot of His Dying Dad
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @04:34PM Researchers Have Figured Out How To Fake News Video With AI
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @01:00PM Many Firms Are 'AI Washing' Claims of Intelligent Products
Tuesday July 18, 2017 @05:22PM Michigan Will Build 25 Self-Driving Trolleys In 2017
Sunday July 16, 2017 @02:31PM Facebook's AI Keeps Inventing Languages That Humans Can't Understand
Sunday July 16, 2017 @01:18AM Is Homeland Security's Face-Scanning At Airports An Unreasonable Search?
Saturday July 15, 2017 @07:24PM Elon Musk Warns Governors: Regulate AI Before It's 'Too Late'
Saturday July 15, 2017 @12:38PM Can AI Replace Hospital Radiologists?
Thursday July 13, 2017 @12:59PM Artificial Intelligence Has Race, Gender Biases
Wednesday July 12, 2017 @04:47PM The Audi A8: First Production Car To Achieve Level 3 Autonomy
Wednesday July 12, 2017 @03:08PM 'World's First Robot Lawyer' Now Available In All 50 States
Wednesday July 12, 2017 @09:05AM After Go, Developers Are Now Building AI To Beat Us at Soccer
Sunday July 09, 2017 @06:15PM Google Home Ends A Domestic Dispute By Calling The Police
Sunday July 09, 2017 @04:20PM Former Oculus Exec Predicts Telepathy Within 10 Years
Saturday July 08, 2017 @02:39PM Google Funds A Team Of Robot Journalists
Wednesday July 05, 2017 @08:33AM Amazon's Alexa Passes 15,000 skills, Up From 10,000 in February
Tuesday July 04, 2017 @12:50PM Samsung Reportedly Developing a Voice-Controlled Speaker To Compete With Amazon Echo
Saturday July 01, 2017 @05:41PM Central Bankers Warned Of Possible Economic 'Robocalypse'
Friday June 30, 2017 @11:07PM New Google Project Lets You Collaborate On Doodles With A Neural Network
Thursday June 29, 2017 @05:42PM Artificially Intelligent Painters Invent New Styles of Art
Thursday June 29, 2017 @04:41PM Google Photos 3.0 Released, Bringing Smarter Sharing, Suggestions and Shared Libraries
Monday June 26, 2017 @05:12PM Google Home Is 6 Times More Likely To Answer Your Question Than Amazon Alexa
Sunday June 25, 2017 @02:23AM Self-Driving Cars Are Safer When They Talk To Each Other
Wednesday June 21, 2017 @05:07PM Curiosity Rover Decides, By Itself, What To Investigate On Mars
Wednesday June 21, 2017 @10:40AM Jack Ma: In 30 Years People Will Work Four Hours a Day and Maybe Four Days a Week
Tuesday June 20, 2017 @03:05PM Google Launches Its AI-Powered Jobs Search Engine
Tuesday June 20, 2017 @02:08PM EFF Launches New AI Progress Measurement Project
Monday June 19, 2017 @08:15AM As AI Explodes, Investors Pour Big Bucks Into Startups
Sunday June 18, 2017 @11:48AM Garry Kasparov: The World Should Embrace Artificial Intelligence
Friday June 16, 2017 @05:37PM Microsoft's AI Is the First to Reach a Perfect Ms. Pac-Man Score
Friday June 16, 2017 @03:12PM Samsung's Bixby Voice Assistant Is Finally Coming to the US -- But Only As a Preview
Wednesday June 14, 2017 @05:38PM Facebook Built an AI System That Learned To Lie To Get What It Wants
Wednesday June 14, 2017 @02:39PM Robots Are Coming For Our Ms. Pac-Man High Scores
Wednesday June 14, 2017 @11:01AM US Weighs Restricting Chinese Investment In Artificial Intelligence
Tuesday June 13, 2017 @12:01PM The New York Times Is Expanding Comments With the Help of Google's AI
Tuesday June 13, 2017 @07:40AM Cook Says Apple Is Focusing on Making an Autonomous Car System
Sunday June 11, 2017 @11:19PM Artificial Intelligence Can Now Predict Suicide With Remarkable Accuracy
Sunday June 11, 2017 @11:25AM Ask Slashdot: How Can Programmers Move Into AI Jobs?
Friday June 09, 2017 @03:32PM Japan To Launch Self-Navigating Cargo Ships 'By 2025'
Friday June 09, 2017 @02:54PM Ask Slashdot: What Types of Jobs Are Opening Up In the New Field of AI?
Thursday June 08, 2017 @03:42PM Boeing Studies Planes Without Pilots, Plans Experiments Next Year
Thursday June 08, 2017 @09:18AM 'I'm Not Sure I Understand' -- How Apple's Siri Lost Her Mojo
Thursday June 01, 2017 @03:26PM IBM Says Watson Health's AI Is Getting Really Good at Diagnosing Cancer
Wednesday May 31, 2017 @03:32PM Apple Is Manufacturing a Siri Speaker To Compete Against Google Home, Amazon Echo
Tuesday May 30, 2017 @04:18PM AI Could Get Smarter By Copying the Neural Structure of a Rat Brain
Monday May 29, 2017 @11:09AM Startup Uses AI To Create Programs From Simple Screenshots
Monday May 29, 2017 @02:32AM Is China Outsmarting America in AI?
Monday May 29, 2017 @02:15AM ARM's New Processors Are Designed To Power the Machine-Learning Machines
Sunday May 28, 2017 @08:28PM Walt Mossberg's Last Column Calls For Privacy and Security Laws
Saturday May 27, 2017 @07:53PM Google Go-Playing A.I. Retires To Focus On Energy Conservation And Medicine
Friday May 26, 2017 @03:39PM Apple Is Working On a Dedicated Chip To Power AI On Devices
Thursday May 25, 2017 @09:00AM Google AI AlphaGo Wins Again, Leaves Humans In the Dust
Wednesday May 24, 2017 @03:21PM Consumers Trust Robots For Surgery Over Savings, Research Finds
Wednesday May 24, 2017 @10:18AM China Censored Google's AlphaGo Match Against World's Best Go Player
Tuesday May 23, 2017 @05:27PM When AI Botches Your Medical Diagnosis, Who's To Blame?
Tuesday May 23, 2017 @10:19AM Google's AlphaGo AI Defeats the World's Best Human Go Player
Sunday May 21, 2017 @04:37PM How AI Can Infer Human Emotions
Sunday May 21, 2017 @03:04PM Vint Cerf Reflects On The Last 60 Years
Saturday May 20, 2017 @12:20AM The Working Dead: Which IT Jobs Are Bound For Extinction?
Friday May 19, 2017 @04:39PM Uber Starts Charging What It Thinks You're Willing To Pay
Thursday May 18, 2017 @03:22PM Google Launches Google Assistant On the iPhone
Wednesday May 17, 2017 @10:26AM Software Is Eating the World, But AI Is Going To Eat Software, Nvidia CEO Says
Tuesday May 16, 2017 @03:40PM Amazon Targets Cord Cutters With First-Ever Integrated Fire TV Sets
Tuesday May 16, 2017 @02:04PM Big Banks Will Fall First To AI, China's Most Famous VC Predicts
Sunday May 14, 2017 @11:20PM Lyft And Waymo Announce They'll Collaborate On Self-Driving Cars
Saturday May 13, 2017 @11:40PM Microsoft Wants To Monitor Your Workplace With AI, Computer Vision and the Cloud
Thursday May 11, 2017 @04:43PM Apple Watch Can Detect An Abnormal Heart Rhythm With 97 Percent Accuracy, UCSF Study Says
Thursday May 11, 2017 @04:17PM Star Trek Bridge Crew Gets IBM Watson-Powered Voice Commands
Wednesday May 10, 2017 @04:52PM NVIDIA Unveils Tesla V100 AI Accelerator Powered By 5120 CUDA Core Volta GPU
Wednesday May 10, 2017 @09:41AM Police To Test App That Assesses Suspects
Tuesday May 09, 2017 @03:24PM Why Do Gas Station Prices Constantly Change? Blame the Algorithm
Tuesday May 09, 2017 @11:44AM Amazon Just Announced the Touchscreen Echo Nobody Asked For
Monday May 08, 2017 @11:21PM Chinese Startup Infervision Emerges From Stealth With An AI Tool For Diagnosing Lung Cancer
Monday May 08, 2017 @02:51PM AI Is in a 'Golden Age' and Solving Problems That Were Once Sci-fi, Amazon CEO Says
Monday May 08, 2017 @08:28AM Artificial Intelligence Closes In On the Work of Junior Lawyers
Saturday May 06, 2017 @09:06PM Swarm AI Spectacularly Fails To Predict Kentucky Derby Winners A Second Time
Friday May 05, 2017 @09:37PM Amazon Leak Exposes Echo AI Device With Touch Display and FireOS
Thursday May 04, 2017 @12:03PM 'This Isn't AI'
Sunday April 30, 2017 @05:30PM VC Founder Predicts AI Will Take 50% Of All Human Jobs Within 10 Years
Sunday April 30, 2017 @01:49PM Massive Tinder Photo Scrape Has Users Upset
Saturday April 29, 2017 @06:21PM Wired Founding Editor Now Challenges 'The Myth of A Superhuman AI'
Friday April 28, 2017 @03:20PM Amazon's Alexa Can Now Whisper, Bleep Out Swear Words, and Change Its Pitch
Tuesday April 25, 2017 @12:58PM IBM Watson Now Being Used To Catch Rogue Traders
Monday April 24, 2017 @01:12PM Microsoft's Nadella Banks On LinkedIn Data To Challenge Salesforce
Monday April 24, 2017 @09:22AM Billionaire Jack Ma Says CEOs Could Be Robots in 30 Years, Warns of Decades of 'Pain' From AI
Saturday April 22, 2017 @02:25PM Grand Theft Auto V Is Being Used To Help Teach Self-Driving Cars
Thursday April 20, 2017 @01:20PM Google Home Now Recognizes Specific Users' Voices, Gains Support For Multiple Accounts
Monday April 17, 2017 @04:30PM AI Can Predict Heart Attacks More Accurately Than Doctors